Skip to content

Unfailing Love

April 27, 2011

In the past week, two family friends have passed away. One was younger and it was a total surprise to get the call. The other had been dealing with illness, but getting that call was just as hard to hear. In praying and thinking about what has happened I am reminded that death in any form, be it expected or not, is not easy to understand.

As I began praying for the families and friends connected to these two men, the Lord reminded me of a song. I searched online for a good rendition, but was unable to find it, so I decided to post the words alone. The song is “I Know” by Darrell Evans on his Freedom album.

I Know

Verse 1
Though I’m walking through the valley
Of the darkest hour I’ve known
Lord don’t You leave me all alone
When I’m surrounded by the shadows
That seem to feed my fear
I will trust You
Though I may not feel You here

Chorus 1
But I know that Your love is unfailing
O I know Your grace is so amazing
O I know even though my faith be shaken
O I still know that I’ll never be forsaken
‘Cause You’re always faithful
I know

Verse 2
When my bed has been floating
On the flood of all my tears
Seems as though my joy has disappeared
Still I will not put my hope
In what I see or feel
I will cling to You
And trust You’re holding me

(BRIDGE)
I worship You
I look to You
I trust You with my life
I worship You
I look to You
Come lift my head up high

(ENDING)
Lord I don’t know where I’m walking
But I’ll take it day by day
And I’ll hold Your hand
And You will lead the way

CCLI Song No. 2718622
© 1998 Integrity’s Praise! Music | Integrity’s Hosanna! Music  |
Darrell Evans | Lincoln Brewster

In particular, the words of the chorus are highlighted in my heart. The Lord’s love is unfailing, His grace is unchanging, even when everything bad is happening in my little corner of the world and I can’t bring myself to utter one more prayer for help, the Lord remains faithful to His beloved.

We pray so hard for a change in circumstances, for healing for the sick, for a beloved child to make better choices, for more money. And the Lord wants all good things for us. He promises to answer with provision for our needs. He does not abandon us.

Does he always answer according to our plans? No. But I can trust that He knows what I need better than I do. He sees the whole world, not just my little corner of it. And what I need may not completely match up with what I think I need. So, we choose then to align ourselves with the Lord, not against Him. Then, we can begin to trust in Him more fully and desire all the things He wants for us.

 3 Trust in the LORD, and do good;
Dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness.
4 Delight yourself also in the LORD,
And He shall give you the desires of your heart.
5 Commit your way to the LORD,
Trust also in Him,
And He shall bring it to pass. (Psalm 37:3-5, NKJV)

Don’t forget his unfailing love and unchanging grace. He knows every heartache, every need. You can trust how He answers your prayers.

Comments are closed.

