Skip to content

I’m not Afraid!

February 21, 2011

Day 28 – A picture of something you’re afraid of

I don’t consider myself afraid of things. There are things that make me a little queasy (heights, mice, cockroaches), but I can overcome them and do what needs to be done.

That being said, and for the sake of posting something picture-related today, I chose to write of my intense dislike of being trapped underwater. I enjoy swimming, snorkeling; I’ve never been scuba-diving, but I think I would enjoy that. What I’m talking about is willingly putting myself in a long metal capsule that submerges and having no control over when I will see daylight again!

I will say that I have overcome this dislike enough to man up at Disneyland on the Finding Nemo ride so that I wouldn’t look like a goober with my kids and nephews. (We made it through just fine, thank you very much.) But, given the option, I will always opt to NOT enter the submersible. I don’t enjoy the movies Jerry makes me watch, like Sphere or The Abyss, either.

 The above picture is from one of our trips to Hawaii. Jerry and a friend went on a submarine adventure. Obviously, they were, at some point, 67 feet down. I chose to take the submarine ride admission price and buy a little something for myself. Notice the beautiful black pearl I am wearing in the picture below.

Marla & Kate

 Given the choice, I will always choose the pearls!

One Comment leave one →
  1. faerylandmom permalink
    February 22, 2011 12:16 pm

    Hmmm…I don’t know that I’d do too well underwater either.

Leave a Reply

