Skip to content

Growing Up

February 20, 2011

Day 27 – A picture of yourself and a family member

Jay, Marla, Matt 2010

“Our siblings.  They resemble us just enough to make all their differences confusing, and no matter what we choose to make of this, we are cast in relation to them our whole lives long.”  ~Susan Scarf Merrell
 

These are two of the greatest men you will ever meet. And they happen to be my brothers, Jay and Matt Jones. They both married wonderful women and have made beautiful families. I’m so very proud of them.

Now, my brothers may tell you horror stories of us growing up. I was not a nice big sister. I ruled the roost, so to speak. I remember some fun times we had, but when we all get together, I mostly hear about how mean I was. I hope they know how sorry I am that those are the memories they have. Because I really do love them.

“Siblings are the people we practice on, the people who teach us about fairness and cooperation and kindness and caring – quite often the hard way.”  ~Pamela Dugdale

I don’t think I appreciated them as much as I could have growing up. I know we always loved each other, but I don’t think we always showed it. Looking back, I think I kind of lived a separate life from them. I regret that. So many years I missed…

It’s amazing though, what a major disturbance in the family will do to you. When my Mom and Dad divorced, there was a tiny shift in the relationship I had with my brothers. We started talking more; it was nice. When Dad got sick, we even took a couple of road trips together to visit him. There was a lot of catching up during those times. I’m glad we got to do it, but I wish it hadn’t taken what it did to get to that point.

Anyway, I love my brothers so much. I’m delighted with the lives they have made for themselves and their families. And I’m so very glad I can call them my family. Hopefully, even with the miles between us, we will get closer and closer as we grow up (I know I still have a bunch of growing to do!)

Marla, Matt, Jay 1974

One Comment leave one →
  1. faerylandmom permalink
    February 22, 2011 12:14 pm

    Wow…this sounds a lot like my story with my sisters. A lot of good memories, but not a lot of relationship until we all grew up and kind of apart. It’s nice, when I look back, to know that it’s never too late to mend something like this.

Leave a Reply

