Skip to content

Favorites

February 16, 2011

Day 23 – A picture of your favorite book

I read ahead on the list of challenges and have been trying to decide what to write tonight. I found a quote that embodies my feelings on the matter…

“I could no sooner choose a favourite star in the heavens.” ~Danielle de Barbarac “Ever After”

Reading has always been a great adventure for me. I love the feeling of getting so caught up in a book that I can’t put it down until it is completely done. And, once done, realizing that I had become so immersed in the story that I felt a part of it. Then, feeling sad at the end because the story is finished.

“You know you’ve read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend.”  ~Paul Sweeney

For Christmas, I was given by my sweet husband a Kindle. Now, I wasn’t so sure about this, since I like the feeling of holding a book and smelling the pages (that sounds so weird!) But, this Kindle has opened a new world for me. I can carry with me a whole library wherever I go. It has become an almost constant companion.

So, to say I have one favorite is difficult. I’m not sure I could even give you a favorite from different genres. I usually say something is a favorite if I can go back to it again and again and never get tired of it.

I’ll leave you with a few (from the list of many) that fit that definition (in no certain order)…

  • The Bible – True stories of adventure, daring, romance, drama, comedy, tragedy, as well as history, law and poetry.
  •  The Chronicles of Narnia CS Lewis – loved because of the story itself as well as the allegory.
  • Persuasion Jane Austen – just a beautiful love story
  • Pride and Prejudice Jane Austen – who doesn’t root for Elizabeth and Darcy?
  • My Utmost For His Highest Oswald Chambers – my first devotion book to read. So much wisdom.
  • The Zion Chronicles series Brock and Bodie Thoene – I couldn’t put these down! (as well as the next ones!)
  • The Zion Covenant series Brock and Bodie Thoene
  • All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Robert Fulghum – a lot of truth here.
  • Where the Sidewalk Ends Shel Silverstein – just plain fun
  • Tarzan of the Apes Edgar Rice Burroughs – surprisingly on the list, but I read it recently and recommend it highly
  • Crazy Love Francis Chan – good stuff!

And the list could go on and on. I see a lot of fiction. That is my usual preference. There is so much out there to read! Wikipedia estimates there are over 130 million unique books in the world. Oh, the possibilities!

Any books you recommend to me?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy permalink
    February 17, 2011 6:21 pm

    Any of the ones written by Janette Oak, are some of my favorites as well as some by Lori Wick. One of my all time favorites is The Shack and would recommend that book to anybody and everybody. Shirley recommended it to me and she was right it was awesome.

    • Marla permalink*
      February 17, 2011 9:31 pm

      I agree with all of these Cathy! I haven’t read a lot of Lori Wick, but I love Janette Oke, especially the Canadian West series. And I like The Shack too!

  2. Cathy permalink
    February 17, 2011 6:22 pm

    Fred and I got a Kindle for Christmas as well and we just love it.

  3. February 17, 2011 7:34 pm

    The Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers……….sooooooooo good!

    • Marla permalink*
      February 17, 2011 9:33 pm

      It’ll go on my list!

  4. faerylandmom permalink
    February 17, 2011 8:02 pm

    My dearest Marla – please tell me you’ve read some Francine Rivers??? If not, I recommend “Redeeming Love” to start with her.

    If you haven’t read any Dickens, I also highly recommend him. Oh, my goodness, I shouldn’t start…I’ll end up writing my whole post in your comments section!

    As a fellow “page-smeller”, I’m hesitant to get a Kindle. Levi bought me one, but it was just too weird, and we returned it to buy later, when the price comes down more.

    • Marla permalink*
      February 17, 2011 9:32 pm

      I am currently reading a Francine Rivers called “A Lineage of Grace.” I am loving it!
      I hope you try the Kindle again!

Leave a Reply

