Skip to content

Practice Makes Perfect

February 15, 2011

Day 22 – A picture of something you wish you were better at

“It’s easy to play any musical instrument: all you have to do is touch the right key at the right time and the instrument will play itself.” ~Johann Sebastian Bach

 

“My fingers,’ said Elizabeth,  ‘do not move over this instrument in the masterly manner which I see many women’s do. They have not the same force or rapidity, and do not produce the same expression. But then, I have always supposed it to be my own fault–because I will not take the trouble of practising.”  ~Jane Austen from Pride and Prejudice

Give me a piece of sheet music, and I can usually read the notes and bang out a fairly decent rendition…eventually. And  “fairly decent” may not accurately describe what others think of my skills. So much for Mr. Bach’s belief. I think I fall more in the category of one Miss Elizabeth Bennet, who wouldn’t practice. I would love to play expertly, but I do not put the effort into what I want.

So, the choice is, do I practice and improve…or do I leave it as is and make myself content here? I am not content, so to the keys I must go, I think.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 6:20 pm

    Now you cut that out! You are too a good piano player! I love to sit and listen to you play… and play you do, a lot! Many years from now if someone were to ask me what are some of my favorite memories of our household it would be you and your piano playing.

  2. sandy medak permalink
    February 15, 2011 6:34 pm

    maybe it’s time I stepped up…need to do something worthwhile with the talents God gave me?

    • Marla permalink*
      February 15, 2011 6:56 pm

      Absolutely Sandy! You play beautifully!

  3. Cathy permalink
    February 15, 2011 8:09 pm

    you play beautifully Marla, and have missed seeing you at the piano at church, at least on Sunday mornings when we go. Keep up the playing I’ve taken piano lessons a couple of different times and can’t play on the level you do. Keep up the good work you are very talented.

  4. faerylandmom permalink
    February 17, 2011 8:03 pm

    You’re 10 steps ahead of me – I don’t play a thing. One of the biggest regrets of my life is never learning an instrument.

    • Marla permalink*
      February 17, 2011 9:33 pm

      It’s never too late, Tiff!

Leave a Reply

