Skip to content

Viva Italia!

February 14, 2011

Day 20 – A picture of somewhere you’d love to travel

For the past few years, I have really wanted to have an Italian vacation. I’ve had a few friends and relatives take the trip and I love looking at their beautiful pictures. I am convinced that Italy is just as pretty in real life as it is in those pictures!

Jerry and I have talked about it for some time. Italy has become our “dream vacation” destination. We want to go and experience as much of it as we can. The history, the architecture, the culture, the ambience…what an absolutely beautiful place to visit!

So, I’ll start saving pennies now, in between times when someone in the household needs/wants something else. It’ll happen one day. I’m sure of it.

I can’t speak a word of Italian, though…maybe that should be a first goal.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia Ewert permalink
    February 14, 2011 8:27 am

    Of all the places we’ve been in Europe, Italy was our least favorite. We had a terrible experience in a restaurant in Pisa and it makes us say, “If you want good Italian food, go to an Italian restaurant in the US!” I have to admit, our drive along the farm roads along the Mediterranean Sea was beautiful. Most of them were dirt roads and in some places half of the road had fallen into the sea. They simply had wires with pink ribbons attached to block off those spots. Many times we had to backtrack but we made it from Pisa to Naples on those roads.

    • Marla permalink*
      February 14, 2011 9:57 am

      I’m so sorry your experience wasn’t a good one Julia.

  2. faerylandmom permalink
    February 14, 2011 8:58 am

    There are so many places I want to go…Italy is on a long list!

  3. lavbarnes permalink
    February 14, 2011 10:21 am

    Friend it is everything you dreamed….I would go back anytime. I left plenty of things to.
    I agree with your friend though about Pisa being a little getto…my meal there was not the best, but my food everywhere else was amazing.
    Fresh, tasty, and good for me.

Leave a Reply

