Skip to content

And the Flood Came

February 14, 2011

Day 21 – A picture of something you wish you could forget

This is a picture of the Big Flood of ’06. I’m not sure it affected anyone else like it affected us, but you see in the picture is actually a few days after the water had started going down. We have a sloped backyard which is at the bottom of a sloped neighborhood.

We had watched the back yard getting mushy for a few days of the rains, but then, we noticed in the front that water was running out from the house in weird places. Trying to figure out where the streams were coming from was frustrating. And still we watched the rain continue, the flood eventually reaching the back door of the garage. Our little pump couldn’t handle the volume. In a matter of hours, water was running straight through the garage. Laundry piles were soaked. Boxes (not bins, but actual cardboard boxes) of treasured items were sitting in water, breaking down as we watched.

Now, I realize, truly that this is nothing compared to the major loss anyone has experienced in an actual flood situation. I am not comparing myself to them in any way. I am very grateful that I did not lose my house, thank You, Lord! I know this was merely inconvenience.

However, to answer the post assignment today, I had to write about something I wish I could forget. I really wish I could forget the feelings all this brings up. Now, when it rains, I fight worrying if there will be another lagoon in my backyard. I try not to worry about belongings being ruined.

During that December ’06 rainy season, my eyes were opened to an area of myself that I didn’t like seeing. I had become tied up in all my possessions. /insert CONVICTION here!/This realization came one day when I found myself sobbing over a book which had been ruined. This is a messy feeling, and not one I relish sharing. Now, I don’t think I would qualify for the show on TV, but I was hoarding stuff. Some of it probably was worthy of keeping, and a lot I could talk enough to justify keeping. But it was still all stuff.

And that flood got rid of some of that stuff for me. Whether it was destroyed or not worth the effort to repair, it was removed from my being. And I’ve actually enjoyed that. Over the past few years since then, I feel like the Lord is helping me to release my hold on possessions. It is so liberating not being attached to things that are of no real value! I can now say that I am looking for the things that are of real value…serving the Lord with my whole heart, taking joy in the things He has given me like my family and friends. Praise God for that!

There is still much purging in my life that needs to happen. I am not done holding on to some things, but it’s happening. And it’s a good thing. So, yes, I want to forget the flood, but I want to remember how it taught me to place value on what is truly valuable.

“Speaking to the people, he went on, “Take care! Protect yourself against the least bit of greed. Life is not defined by what you have, even when you have a lot.” Luke 12:15 (The Message)

One Comment leave one →
  1. faerylandmom permalink
    February 15, 2011 3:51 pm

    ((hugs)) I know the feeling, though it’s not related to a physical flood.

Leave a Reply

