Skip to content

Impact!

February 10, 2011

Day 17 – A picture of something that has made a huge impact on your life recently

About a year ago, I worked with a group of kids to present a blacklight handmime to “Who Am I” for our church’s Easter services. Being dutiful parents, we put the video on youtube so it could be viewed by relatives living too far away to watch it live. Recently, it was viewed by a casting associate for America’s Got Talent.

They asked us to come in to an audition in Portland. And so, we rehearsed…a lot. I shopped and sewed (one I do well, the other not so much) to get us ready for the day. The kids did a great job getting ready with only a week to work on a song they had not touched since last Easter. We came up with a name,  “Impact,” for our group, and off we went.

It was exciting to go up to Portland and perform for the judges (who were duly impressed and have asked for another song, which we are currently working on.) But the most important – and exciting – thing is that this wonderful group of kids understands that the heart of what Impact is is to minister. And they are excited about it.

In college, I was a part of a drama group used as an outreach tool of our church. I had wanted to bring that to our current church, but the timing was wrong. I am thrilled because I think it may be happening now. These guys want to do more. And they’re bringing more kids with them!

It would be fun to be a part of America’s Got Talent, but I am really looking forward to going further with Impact as a ministry. What an amazing opportunity we’ll have to reach people who aren’t in the church in a unique way!

Can’t wait to see what comes next!

Not the best pic, but here's the group at the audition!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie Williams permalink
    February 11, 2011 7:04 am

    I am so VERY blessed by what is happening with “Impact” !! Got you “covered” daily. Love and Prayers Richad and Debbie

  2. Lesley permalink
    February 11, 2011 7:34 am

    I am excited as well Marla! What a great bunch of kiddos you have providing a powerful message!

    PS… I sew, let me know if you need any help! I also shop well. LOL!!!

    I love ya sister and the heart that you have for this ministry!

    Les

  3. February 11, 2011 8:32 am

    Where’s the link to YouTube?? I gotta see this!

  4. Marla permalink*
    February 11, 2011 9:18 am

    Thank you Debbie for the prayer cover! And Lesley, I’ll give you a call!
    Anna, here’s the link! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6OVUlvIlRU

    And we’ve only improved since then! 🙂

  5. faerylandmom permalink
    February 11, 2011 10:19 pm

    So, so exciting!!!

Leave a Reply

