Skip to content

Inspired by…

February 9, 2011

Day 16 – A picture of someone who inspires you

 

I know lots of people who I could say inspire me. In fact, deciding who I could write about today was difficult because I am tremendously blessed to learn life lessons from many different people.

I have known Bobi for a long time. It’s difficult to say exactly how long, because before we actually met, Jerry talked about her. Her youngest son is a good friend of Jerry’s. I knew she and her family were very important to him, and that made them important to me as well. When we moved to Oregon, Bobi and her husband Chuck were people who I said hello to at church services and prayed for when they (mostly she) travelled.

A few years ago (3? 4?), by divine appointment I am sure, Bobi and I were paired for a women’s ministry function. The goal was to build relationships with people we didn’t know well, one-on-one. We were asked to commit to praying for each other and getting together for a term. Well, we did it, and have continued doing it to this day.

We get together for lunch and complain about stuff and gently chastise each other. We share stories about our pasts, laugh, cry, pray. It’s been such a good thing for me to learn from her over these years.

We all have pasts. Good and bad things have happened. Bobi is no different. I am inspired by her perseverance through it all. There are so many times I want to give up in the middle of heartache, or just a hard day for that matter. She hasn’t, and that has been the lesson I am still learning. She exemplifies 2 Corinthians 4:8-9:

“We are hard-pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair;  persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed…”

If, when I am her age, I can look back on my life and rejoice over the triumphs the Lord has helped me achieve like she can, I will be so happy.

Then there’s the fun stuff. Bobi travels and ministers. She loves that. She’s not afraid to push boundaries of other people or herself, yet does it all in an unoffensive way. And she likes to try new things. Her Christmas present from her husband last year was a tattoo.

I think I want to be Bobi when I grown up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. faerylandmom permalink
    February 10, 2011 7:01 am

    I remember her from church services. She’s awesome, and I barely know her. A tattoo? Love it.

  2. Norma permalink
    February 10, 2011 5:23 pm

    So happy you have Bobi and that she has you!!

Leave a Reply

