Skip to content

Two in One!

February 6, 2011

I’m a day behind on blogging…and I was trying SO HARD, too! I’m going to post Days 12 and 13 both on this post so I can be caught up. I’m hoping to catch my Joy of Love class up also. If you haven’t had a chance, click over and see what I’m up to here!

Day 12 – A picture of something you love

I’ve always had a fondness for sunsets. Better than a sunrise in my eyes, there is just something so serene in the colors and shapes of a sunset. I am drawn to the tranquility of sunsets. I can sit and watch the whole sky unfold and I feel like I’ve been given a gift.

Quietly, I watch as the sun slowly falls. They cloud formations change ever so slightly and are colored along with the sky. The wide range of colors is a beautiful surprise, since every sunset has its own unique mixture. The sun drops closer and closer to the horizon, the higher sky gets darker and darker. Clouds begin to be outlined in gold as the sun’s last rays of the day peek out around the edges. Then, I watch as the steady sun touches my sky one last moment before disappearing until tomorrow.

And I’m left, calm, as stars appear overhead in the twilight.

 

**********

 

Day 13 – A picture of your favorite band or artist 

Quite a few years ago, Jerry officiated at a wedding and I fell in love with the prelude music they had chosen. I asked the family and they showed me the case for Jim Brickman‘s  “Picture This” CD. Most of his music is instrumental and original, with piano and pop-style instruments accompanying. (He does cover other music and has had many vocal stars perform with him also.) Fiddle player David Klinkenberg (who has done a couple of concerts at our church) has toured with Jim.

I have recommended Jim’s CDs for weddings and even funerals, as he has more than one with hymns and original songs of praise. I use them at home and work just to help create a calm environment for study and work.

It’s good stuff!

One Comment leave one →
  1. faerylandmom permalink
    February 8, 2011 3:01 pm

    Nice. I’ll have to look him up.

Leave a Reply

