Skip to content

There and Back Again

January 29, 2011

Day 05 – A picture of your favorite memory.

My dad was a farmer. We used to joke that during the summer, everyone but farmers took vacations during the nice weather. But the farmers waited for the bad weather or the very end of the summer when there was no chance a lot of work needed to be done. So, our family vacations were near the end of the summer.

We didn’t go every year, but one of our favorite destinations was Red River, NM. We would pack up the car, each of us bringing something to do (books for me) since no one wanted to spend the 9+ hours staring out the window. We had a special road trip soundtrack on a cassette that Mom and Dad had copied off the original 8-track tape that came with our old blue Oldsmobile. We sang, tried to play car games without fighting in the backseat, and watched for the trip landmarks.

One of our favorites was at the crossing between Texas and New Mexico. Around the state of Texas, there are a few of these concrete boundary markers. We sometimes stopped, sometimes didn’t, but always looked for it. The picture above was one of the fun times when we stopped, Daddy showing where we were on the map. There may be an actual picture where we’re all looking at the camera.

When I grew up and moved away, anything Texas was immediately sentimental to me. I think I may have enlarged the actual size of the state of Texas in my children’s minds with how I talk of it. They love Texas too and that makes me happy.

We take the long road trips to Texas. We pack up our vehicle, each of us bringing something to do (me bringing books, the kids and Jerry bringing every imaginable electronic gadget that will work in the car) since no one wants to spend 20+ hours staring out the window. We used to listen to my copy of the road trip soundtrack until it grew legs and walked away, now we listen as Jerry and I try to remember the words to all the songs on the soundtrack. We sing, try to play car games without fighting in the backseat, and watch for the trip landmarks.

And when we get close to that Texas border, our eyes are staring out the window and we strain to find the sign…

And we stop to make a new memory.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha Weeks permalink
    January 30, 2011 1:11 am

    well, you come by it honestly…we always looked for the same state line markers when we (your mom and her family) went on our trips to Red River or Cloudcroft, NM. There is a picture of your mom and our brother on the same “Texas”…really brings back fun memories for me too.

  2. Lesley permalink
    January 30, 2011 6:19 am

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your blogs! I think you should be a writer…. no, really! You are inspiring me to start one myself…. hmmm, “The Ongoing Testosterone Trip” No, that doesn’t work…. but you get the idea… I am startin’ to “feel it”.

    Love you and miss you! It seems we haven’t been around much. Two weekends of moving homeless souls to new destinations and then there was the whole Conference weekend and now the Bridal Show. Having a very hard time getting motivated for this one…

    See you soon!!!

  3. Marla permalink*
    January 30, 2011 8:06 am

    Martha, see the power a mommy has to instillexcitement and tradition? Sure wish I could find that picture, too, and have 3 generations!
    Lesley! Thank you so much! I am so enjoying myself; it’s been on my heart for a very long time. You should join in. I am finding that having goal, like the 30 day challenge help. We should talk!
    Miss you too. Hope you’re feeling better and hope to see you soon!

  4. Norma permalink
    January 30, 2011 10:51 am

    Ohhhh the memories! I’m sure Grannie has that pic of Ben and I..I’ll see about getting you a copy. I agree with your writings, I am blessed and the road is sweetened when I read your thoughts and the way you see/saw things. Love you much!

  5. Norma permalink
    January 30, 2011 10:53 am

    By the way….love, love, love the top picture of you guys…..feet. Would love a copy of that!

  6. Marla permalink*
    January 30, 2011 1:39 pm

    Got it Mom!

  7. faerylandmom permalink
    February 2, 2011 3:05 pm

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

