Skip to content

1 + 1 = 3

January 28, 2011

Day 04 – A picture of a night you’ll remember.

 

~OK, I cheated and added 2 pics today. They were taken the same night, though.~

After a rather uneventful pregnancy (not taking into account a cross-country move at 7 1/2 mos), my blood pressure started to climb to a point that my doctor felt it necessary to induce me. We tried a couple of days of bedrest, to no avail. So, on February 23, 1994, very early in the morning we drove to the hospital for Emilie’s birth day.

We had been anxiously awaiting Emilie’s arrival for weeks. Bags always packed and ready, taking all the necessary precautions in case we needed to head to the hospital. And then, there we were with an actual date because of the scheduled induction and it hit. Very soon, all the waiting and planning would be over and we were excited. Very soon, we would have a baby and no longer would it be just the two of us.

The labor was fairly intense, but very quick. So quick in fact, that I didn’t even have time to call for pain medication. And then, there she was, all 7 lbs, 5.5 oz of her. And I was excited and scared and in awe and every other emotion you can think of. As Jerry’s dad said, “She’s just a little person, isn’t she?” And I was supposed to be her mom! It makes me wonder if that’s kind of what Mary was pondering in Luke 2.

That night, after all the visitors had left, dinner had been eaten, diapers were changed, I took a long shower. And I sang because it was all I could think of to do to express my complete wonder at everything that had happened in the last 18 hours.

God is so good
God is so good
God is so good
He’s so good to me

Looking back, I know that was just all my heart could express right then. We made a family of three.  We had wanted to have a baby, had been trying for some time before I was pregnant, but it wasn’t until she was there with us in that room that I realized what we had gotten ourselves into. I wasn’t sure if we were ready at that point to take Emilie home. Through my song, the Lord comforted me and assured me of His provision for us as parents and a family. He was so good, He is so good.

There are many nights I will remember, including the births of my other two precious children, but that night, when that awesome responsibility weighed so heavily upon my heart and when God showed up through praise is a night not to be forgotten.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. faerylandmom permalink
    January 29, 2011 8:24 am

    I love birth stories…this one is beautiful. God really IS so good, isn’t he?

  2. Marla permalink*
    January 29, 2011 2:59 pm

    He is! There is so much more to this story, someday I’ll have to share more.

Leave a Reply

