Skip to content

A Tribute

January 26, 2011

Day 02 – A picture of you and the person you have been closest with the longest.

I suppose naming my mother as the person I have been closest to longest could sound cliche, but it’s true. In the physical sense, as a mom myself, I know how “close” a mother and baby are while she is pregnant, first of all. But, truly, my mom and I love to be together, to laugh, cry, build each other up, lend a listening ear…

There was a time in my teenage years that I did not appreciate everything she was for me, and I regret missing those precious moments. Because when I grew up, I moved away. First to college which was fairly close geographically, but I still didn’t see her as much. And then, after I married, we eventually moved across the country.

Phone calls notwithstanding, I don’t get to be with Mom as often as I would like. I love that she and I have grown from the point of mother/daughter to friends with the benefit of kinship. She has been such a source of inspiration to me and I want to be just like her when I grow up.

Love you Mom!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Norma permalink
    January 28, 2011 7:00 pm

    Wow! I didn’t know (or remember you had a new blog!) Thanks for the tribute…it’s the same one I share with my friends. I love being friends and mom with you! You are my best friend! Wish my shirt wasn’t tucked up under the girl 😉

  2. Marla permalink*
    January 29, 2011 3:00 pm

    Well, I’ve had it for a while, just getting dedicated though! Love ya Mom!

Leave a Reply

