Skip to content

He Said/She Said – Laundry

April 13, 2012

Just for fun, and also to get our creative juices flowing, my husband and I have decided to begin a new venture. Taking a topic, we will both write our own opinion (without reading the other’s first) and then post them to our respective blogs. You can find a link to Jerry’s blog here to read his side of the story.

She Said:

Once upon a time, many years ago, a good-hearted (newly-wedded) husband decided to help his wife by doing her laundry…

At this point, many of you (probably mostly women) are giggling a little, am I right? Said husband used bleach with a load of whites, and then did a load of darks. The bleach drips left on the washing machine were neatly wiped away by the wife’s brand new black stirrup pants. (Hey! I said this was many years ago!) We all know how the story ends…gray spots on the black pants, a wife asking why, a husband saying, “I’m sorry, I was only trying to help!”, and the forced promise of not washing anything that people wear…ever again.

I’m not saying I don’t appreciate help with laundry. I loathe doing laundry. Actually, I loathe folding laundry, but if I didn’t have to do laundry, I would be ok with that. I tend to put the laundry off because of that and Jerry is not pleased when he runs low on the unmentionables. So, the ban on washing was lifted and hubby gets to share the chore again. Although I know I should be doing much more of it!

Besides the bleach incident, I used to have to hide the dry clean only garments until I could deal with them because he would try to wash it all – in hot – with every color together! You can see the trouble I was having, right? I asked him to separate colors once, and then had a good laugh when I pulled a load out of the dryer and everything was blue. He had washed only blue clothes!

We settled those minor issues. Nowadays, the big frustration with him is what is ok to put in the dryer. I don’t dry most of our nicer shirts. This is out of a desire to prevent shrinking and to discourage color fading. Jerry can’t get in his head which things should be hung. With much frustration, he will hang the entire load out of the washer because he doesn’t want to get in trouble for drying it. I have learned to bite my tongue because it makes him mad when I ask why he hung something that I would have dried.

I know Jerry’s biggest frustration is with me getting the laundry done. I am horrible at it! We have very differing viewpoints on how it should be done, too. He would wash a load a day, maybe going as far as to say every Monday, we wash ________, Tuesday, _________. I am not that organized. I want to wash how Mom did it. Wash Day! But, you know what? That only works when you stay on top of it all day long. Which I don’t…because I loathe doing laundry, remember?

I see the good in Jerry’s idea, but in my mind, if I have to separate everything to find the things to wash on Monday, and then separate again on Tuesday for that load… you get the idea. It seems like a waste of time and energy. I tried using separate laundry baskets for the loads. Seemed like a fairly simple thing to ask the family to put items of clothing in certain baskets. Most moms will probably agree with me, easier said than done. It did not work very well.

We did recently attempt and accomplish one of my Pinterest pins. After researching and talking with friends, we made a batch of laundry detergent that, according to the pinned website, should last a whole year! It seems to be cleaning well and I like the smell, so that’s good. Maybe it will help me with my laundry procrastination?

I think the only solution to laundry is to do it. However you can, whenever you can, by any means necessary. And by that, I mean pay your kids to do it!

Check out Jerry’s side here.  Any topics you would like to suggest?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. kdwarren permalink
    April 13, 2012 7:18 pm

    I would love to have “Laundry Fairies”, but since we don’t, we share the duties too, the best way now that the kids are old enough is everyone does their own, and we share the towels, this way if you don’t have any clean unmentionables, it’s your own fault! Good luck Smarts!

    • Marla permalink*
      April 13, 2012 7:24 pm

      Good idea Kari! Although, I think I have a child or two who might just wear whatever they find, in whatever condition they find it!

  2. Crystal Lunetta permalink
    April 13, 2012 9:53 pm

    LOL Brian has come up with the same idea of doing a load of laundry a day. He is willing to help, but always makes the load unbalanced so the washer shakes the whole place! I appreciate that he helps, but men don’t read tags, and Brian doesn’t check pockets too well. Before Brian and I got married, I had my Saturday routine of cleaning and doing my 2-3 simple loads while taking care of the rest of the house. My house was spotless. Now pregnant and married, I just stopped inviting people over because I don’t have the energy to clean like a maniac anymore. I like your blogs, you should do more on the beginning of marriage quirks, and how you got through them. They are helpful to those of us recently married, and fun I am sure for those that have lived through it! Plus you and Jerry are an inspiration to us, so it’s nice to see that you have had similar trials!

  3. Crystal Lunetta permalink
    April 13, 2012 10:00 pm

    Also, do you mind sharing your recipe for soap? I think it would be interesting to try and save money!!

    • Marla permalink*
      April 14, 2012 10:05 am

      Hi Crystal! Thanks for reading and for the compliments! Jerry and I plan to write more. Any topics you would like us to tackle?
      The laundry detergent recipe I used was one I found on Pinterest. To give credit where it is due, here’s the address to the blog I used: http://www.ourdiydiaries.com/2011/12/lets-talk-laundry_15.html Hope you enjoy making it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

